For adults with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss, over-the-counter options run from $249.99 (AirPods Pro 3 with the FDA-authorized Hearing Aid feature, at Costco) to about $2,000 a pair, with trials of up to 100 days. For more severe loss you need prescription aids: Costco sells most models at $1,599.99 a pair with a six-month trial, and Phonak and Oticon lines run about $2,000 to $4,600 a pair. No maker has announced U.S. 2027 models or prices; figures are as of October 30, 2026.
- $249.99AirPods Pro 3 with Hearing Aid feature (OTC), Costco
- $399ELEHEAR Beyond (OTC)
- $549Yeasound RIC800 (OTC)
On this page
Prices at a glance
- AirPods Pro 3 with Hearing Aid feature (OTC), Costco$249.99
- ELEHEAR Beyond (OTC)$399
- Yeasound RIC800 (OTC)$549
- Jabra Enhance Select (OTC)$1,195 to $1,995
- Costco prescription aids$1,599.99 to $1,699.99
- Oticon Intent (prescription)$1,998 to $4,598
- Phonak Infinio and Infinio Sphere (prescription)$2,498 to $4,398
- OTC pairs, average paid$502
- All hearing aids, average paid$2,694
Price table
| Item | Low | High | Typical | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirPods Pro 3 with Hearing Aid feature (OTC), Costco[6][4][5] | $249.99 | FDA-authorized software; up to 10 hours with the feature on | ||
| ELEHEAR Beyond (OTC)[1] | $399 | |||
| Yeasound RIC800 (OTC)[1] | $549 | Up to 31 hours; 100-day trial | ||
| Jabra Enhance Select (OTC)[3] | $1,195 | $1,995 | M1, M2, M3; 100-day trial, 3-year warranty | |
| Costco prescription aids[6] | $1,599.99 | $1,699.99 | Free hearing test; six-month trial; membership required | |
| Oticon Intent (prescription)[10] | $1,998 | $4,598 | ||
| Phonak Infinio and Infinio Sphere (prescription)[8] | $2,498 | $4,398 | ||
| OTC pairs, average paid[2] | $502 | Median $200 | ||
| All hearing aids, average paid[2] | $2,694 |
Prices are national ranges from the sources listed below. Your price depends on your provider, location and case; confirm the cost with your provider before treatment. How we get these prices
How we compared these hearing aids
We split hearing aids by how you buy them, over the counter (OTC) or prescription, because the FDA limits OTC aids to adults 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss.[11] Within each group we ranked models by published price per pair, lowest first, and list battery life, Bluetooth and return or trial period exactly as published by the maker, Costco or HearingTracker on October 30, 2026. We did not test any device. Where we mention sound quality, it is HearingTracker’s lab result, not ours. Prices change often, so check the seller before you buy.
Best OTC hearing aids, by price
| Hearing aid | Price per pair | Battery per charge | Bluetooth | Trial or returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirPods Pro 3 with Hearing Aid feature | $249.99 at Costco[6] | Up to 10 hours with the feature on[5] | Yes | Seller’s policy |
| ELEHEAR Delight | About $331[1] | Up to 13.5 hours[1] | Streaming and calls[1] | Not stated[1] |
| ELEHEAR Beyond | $399[1] | Up to 20 hours[1] | Streaming[1] | Not stated[1] |
| Yeasound RIC800 | $549[1] | Up to 31 hours[1] | Streaming and calls[1] | 100 days[1] |
| Sennheiser All-Day Clear | About $1,000[1] | Up to 24 hours[1] | Streaming and calls[1] | 45 days[1] |
| Jabra Enhance Select M1, M2, M3 | $1,195, $1,695, $1,995[3] | Up to 24 hours (M3)[1] | Yes; M3 has LE Audio and Auracast[3][1] | 100 days, full refund; 3-year warranty[3] |
| Audicus Omni 2 | $1,998 rechargeable[1] | About 16 hours[1] | Yes[1] | 100 days[1] |
Best prescription hearing aids, by price
| Hearing aid | Price per pair | Battery | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Costco: Rexton Reach R Plus, Philips HearLink, Sennheiser Sonite Rise | $1,599.99[6] | Varies by model | Free hearing test, six-month trial, 3-year warranty; membership from $65 a year[6] |
| Costco: Jabra Enhance Pro 30 | $1,699.99[6] | Varies by model | Same Costco terms[6] |
| Oticon Intent | $1,998 to $4,598[10] | Up to 20 hours[9] | LE Audio and Auracast[9] |
| Phonak Infinio and Infinio Sphere | $2,498 to $4,398[8] | 16 hours (Infinio Sphere)[8] | Through HearingTracker partner networks[8] |
| Oticon Reveal | $2,898 to $4,598[10] | Up to 24 hours[10] | Four technology levels[10] |
| Phonak Audéo EON Sphere | Set by clinic | Up to 38 hours[7] | Hypersonic AI chip; mild to profound loss[7] |
Best hearing aid by need
- Lowest price with FDA authorization: AirPods Pro 3 with the Hearing Aid feature, $249.99 at Costco. The FDA authorized the feature on September 12, 2024 for adults with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss.[6][4]
- Longest OTC battery: Yeasound RIC800, up to 31 hours per charge, which is also HearingTracker’s top OTC pick from its lab testing.[1]
- Longest OTC trial with support: Jabra Enhance Select, with a 100-day trial, a 3-year warranty and 3 years of unlimited appointments with its audiology team.[3]
- Lowest-priced prescription aids: Costco, at $1,599.99 a pair for most models, with a six-month trial.[6]
- Longest prescription battery claim: Phonak Audéo EON Sphere, up to 38 hours on a charge.[7]
OTC or prescription?
OTC hearing aids are for adults 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate hearing loss and can be bought without a hearing professional. Prescription aids are fitted by a licensed professional and can suit all ages and levels of loss.[11] The FDA says to see a doctor first if your hearing changed suddenly in the past 6 months, you hear ringing in only one ear, or you have ear pain, fluid or severe dizziness.[11] The FDA does not require OTC makers to offer a warranty, but the package must state the return policy, so check it before you buy.[11]
What is confirmed for 2027
No maker on this page has announced U.S. 2027 models or prices as of October 30, 2026. Phonak marks the Audéo EON Sphere as new on its site.[7] Original Medicare does not cover hearing aids or the exams to fit them; some Medicare Advantage plans offer hearing benefits.[12]
How to pay less
- Get a hearing test first so you know whether OTC is an option. Costco’s test is free for members.[6]
- Use the trial period to test aids at home, at work and in noise.[11]
- Spread the cost over the lifespan. Most prescription aids last three to seven years.[13]
- Use a hearing discount. Care Anytime’s Hearing Discounts benefit lists 35% to 70% off MSRP on most hearing aids bought through an Amplifon Hearing Health Care network provider, with 1 year of follow-up care and 2 years of batteries.[14]
See hearing aid cost for average prices by channel, and Phonak vs Oticon for prescription models.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best hearing aids for 2027?
No maker has announced U.S. 2027 models or prices as of October 30, 2026, so the best choices are the ones on sale now. By published facts, the lowest-cost FDA-authorized option is AirPods Pro 3 with the Hearing Aid feature at $249.99, the longest OTC battery claim is the Yeasound RIC800 at 31 hours, and Costco has the lowest-priced prescription aids at $1,599.99 a pair.
What are the best over the counter hearing aids?
HearingTracker's lab-tested top OTC pick is the Yeasound RIC800, at $549 a pair with up to 31 hours per charge and a 100-day trial. Other OTC options include ELEHEAR Beyond at $399, Sennheiser All-Day Clear at about $1,000 and Jabra Enhance Select at $1,195 to $1,995. OTC aids are for adults 18 and older with perceived mild to moderate loss.
How much should you pay for a good hearing aid?
HearingTracker's survey found buyers paid $2,694 a pair on average across all channels, $502 for OTC pairs and $1,377 for Costco's Kirkland Signature. Premium brands averaged $3,840 (Oticon) to $4,185 (Widex). Costco's current models are $1,599.99 to $1,699.99 a pair.
Who makes the best overall hearing aids?
There is no single answer: the right aid depends on your hearing test and fitting. Among prescription brands, buyers paid the most for Widex ($4,185), Phonak ($4,132), Starkey ($3,893) and Oticon ($3,840) in HearingTracker's survey. See Phonak vs Oticon for model features.
What is the lifespan of a hearing aid?
Baptist Health says most prescription hearing aids are designed to last three to seven years: behind-the-ear models often five to seven, in-the-ear three to five, and the smallest in-the-canal styles closer to three.
Does Medicare pay for hearing aids?
Original Medicare does not cover hearing aids or exams for fitting them. Some Medicare Advantage plans offer hearing benefits, so ask your plan.
Related
Sources
- 1 HearingTracker. Best OTC hearing aids of 2026: lab reviewed. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 2 HearingTracker. What is the true cost of hearing aids? Hearing aid price survey. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 3 Jabra Enhance. Enhance Select hearing aids. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 4 U.S. Food and Drug Administration (September 12, 2024). FDA authorizes first over-the-counter hearing aid software. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 5 Apple. AirPods Pro 3. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 6 HearingTracker (updated September 27, 2026). Costco hearing aids: models, prices and services. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 7 Phonak (Sonova). Audéo EON Sphere. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 8 HearingTracker. Phonak hearing aids: models, prices and reviews. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 9 Oticon. Oticon Intent. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 10 HearingTracker (updated September 24, 2026). Oticon hearing aid models, prices and reviews. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 11 U.S. Food and Drug Administration. OTC hearing aids: what you should know. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 12 Medicare.gov. Hearing aids: coverage. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 13 Baptist Health. How Long Do Hearing Aids Last?. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.
- 14 Care Anytime. Hearing Discounts. Accessed Oct 30, 2026.